Uncategorized

naked and ugly [not really, but kinda-maybe]

Naked and ugly.

That’s how most guests will find this hostess, especially if they’re the first to arrive [looking at you Tra and Court – you are always right on time, which I *love*; if only I could find a way to be as punctual…]

I always prioritize the essential, can’t miss items on the to-do list first.

  • The food
  • The drinks
  • The decor
  • The music

That I often run out of time for things [I find] essential, just not as much so.

  • Pressing linen napkins
  • Dusting off the liquor bottles on the open shelving in my kitchen
  • Getting the playlist *just* right
  • Choosing my outfit and getting beautiful

This party I have had an Oprah-style “A-HA!” moment.

Do the stuff you deem less important first.

And I say this because…

The essential shit is always gonna get done. The extra stuff, maybe not so much…

It dawned on me yesterday:

  • Is the cake not gonna get made?
  • Is the food not going to be cooked?
  • Is the decor not going to be set u?

The answer to these questions is, obviously, “no.”

Might I:

  • Throw on a Pandora station I haven’t properly vetted?
  • Throw on an outfit I don’t love because I’m in a rush?
  • Put my hair back because I didn’t have time to coif it?
  • Fold up crinkled napkins that haven’t been ironed?
  • Be running around on party day trying to find and clean all the glassware and serving pieces?

These all fall on the continuum of “maybe” approaching “yes.”

So, this party, I’m switching it up. I’ve been editing my Pandora station with this party in mind for weeks. I will painstakingly choose my outfit tonight [I was gonna go with this beautiful sparkle dress from my friend Larissa – but after my KanJamming, Football catching, Frisbee tossing, Beer Ponging in the water antics – I don’t know if my bruised legs will allow for it…] I WILL —

I REPEAT

I WILL DO MY MAKEUP AT 6 P.M.

No excuses.

Complete “non-essential” essential tasks first. The actually essential ones will always get done.

Party on, Wayne… [I’ll save the rest.]

T

 

Standard

Leave a comment